Fort of the foreigners
Donegal Town is a town in County Donegal, Ireland. It is situated on Donegal Bay and is at the base of the Bluestack Mountains, making it a good base for touring south County Donegal.
Donegal Town is charming and picturesque, with a small harbour where the Eske River enters Donegal Bay and a pleasant town centre, known as the Diamond, a spacious, open pedestrian area surrounded by hotels, shops, pubs, restaurants and coffee houses. It is the fifth largest town in the county.
Image: Donegal Town
What to see
St. Patrick's Church of the Four Masters - dedicated to Saint Patrick and "the Four Masters", this Catholic church was built in the early 1930s and was completed in 1935. Known locally as 'the Chapel' or 'the Town Chapel', it was designed by Ralph Byrne, the famous Dublin architect, in a mixed neo-Irish Romanesque and neo-Gothic style.
The Tourist Office is in the car park beside Quay Street. While down there walk down to end of the quay (pier) and visit the "Old Graveyard" which is housed in the ruins of "The Old Abbey" which was a Francisian Friary where the medieval beautifully decorated bible "The Annuals of the Four Masters" was crafted. Donegal Abbey was built in 1474 in this beautiful location at the waters edge of Donegal harbour. The ruins that have survived the centuries are a popular tourist attraction and provide a Gothic backdrop to many a visitor's photographs.
The center of town is dominated by the "Diamond", with "The Monument" in the center. "The Monument" is dedicated to the four authors of "The Annuals of the Four Masters". This interesting obelisk is often the center-point of a few skateboarders. Near the Diamond is the "Old Castle". Donegal Castle is the 15th century seat of the O'Donnell chieftains, and was recently and magnificently restored. It is open to public viewing from March to October and its great hall hosts recitals and other cultural events on winter evenings.
A pleasant walk near the center of town, is the "Bank Walk" (approx 2 miles/3km). To find it, walk down Bridge Steet (follow the signs to Mountcharles/Killybegs). After Dunnions Pub, you will cross a bridge and take an immediate left and will see a tree-lined path in front of you. The end of the walk has a bench that is a scenic place to enjoy the view and relax for a few minutes. To return, either retrace your steps back to town or walk back half-way and take the side road that connects to Main Killybegs road.
There are many sandy beaches in the area of Donegal, such as Murvagh beach, and some boasting good surfing conditions, such as Rossnowlagh. Donegal is also used as a base for hill-walking in the nearby Blue Stack Mountains.
The Taste of Donegal Food Festival is a festival that show cases peoples love for their work. It showcases lifestyle products, food and drink and goes perfect for a family outing. It is estimated that in 2015, that between 25,000 and 28,000 came to the Taste of Donegal just to experience this new and upcoming festival.